Sunday, 12 January 2014


There is a wise saying Nobody is above Mistakes. Mostly, when we browse our social medias like facebook we are however prone to mistakes whether is in our statuses, comments, message, etc


Today, I'll be discussing with you some certain facebook mistakes we should avoid and their possible solution.

1. Timeline tune-ups

This is very common among many facebook users. Whenever we update status in our timeline we either some words or complicate it.
For example:
I updated:-   "Happy Maolia Nabiyyi"
Instead of :-    "Happy Maolid Nabiyyi"
It happens quite a number of times, I'm a victim of it too.

You can simply fix
or delete the wrong update or comment.


To correct or remove an item from your timeline or news feed,
- click on the status or comment at the down arrow that appears in the top right
- If you posted the item, you're given the option to edit or delete it. Depending on
the item, other options include Change Date, Add Location, Highlight, Reposition Photo, Hide from Timeline, and Report/Remove Tag.

Note:- When you change an item's date, it moves to that date on your timeline. Friends who are tagged in the item can change its date as well.

You can also manage your timeline by clicking Activity Log at the top of your Timeline or About pages.

Two dropdown menus in the top right corner of the log
entries for your posts let you change the audience for the item and edit it.

The edit options include highlighting, hiding/showing,
or deleting the post. Other options are  adding or changing the location, changing the date, and reporting/marking as spam.

Note that posts you've hidden from your timeline may appear on your news feed or
elsewhere, depending on how the items have been shared.

To prevent your friends from posting on your Facebook timeline, select the upper right
corner of any page and choose Account Settings. Click Timeline and Tagging in the left pane, choose Edit to the right of Who can post on your Timeline? and click Only

The Facebook Help Center describes other tools and settings that help you keep your timeline private.

2. Message management

Facebook gives us 4 different ways to communicate:

»» A status update that's viewed by the audience you select.
»» A post you write on a friend's timeline that's viewed by the audience your friend
has selected.
»» A comment on an item in your news feed that's viewed by the item's audience
»» A private message that's viewed only by the people you choose.

The easiest way to send a message to a friend or other Facebook user is to:
»» Click the message icon to the right of the search box at the top of any Facebook page.
The names of your most recent messaged Facebook feiends will appear.
»» Click Send a New Message and enter the recipient's name. Friends whose names
match the letters you type are then shown.

When you click See All at the bottom of the list of open messages, it will open your
Messages page, which you can also reach by clicking Messages in the left panel of your news feed.

On the Messages page, choose a friend in the left panel and start typing. Or choose New Message at the top of the window and type a name or e-mail address in the To field.
Friends and other Facebook users will again appear below as you type. So do past group conversations corresponding to the name you enter.

Click the Actions button to the right of New Message to open a menu with options for
deleting the selected message, and deleting or muting the conversation. Other options lets you open, move, or archive the message, or report it as spam or

To open the chat sidebar on the desktop version of Facebook:
- Click the chat button in
the bottom-right corner of the window.
- Select a friend in the sidebar and start typing.
Click the gear icon at the bottom of the chat panel to open a menu with four options:
Advanced Settings,
Close All Chat Tabs, and
Turn Off Chat.

The advanced settings let you exclude people from your chat list, limit chat to the friends you select, or turn off chat.

To close the chat panel, click the hide-sidebar button to the right of the gear icon.

The Facebook Help Center's Sending a Message page explains that if the message
recipient has chat active, the message is delivered as a chat. If chat isn't active, the
message is sent to the person's message inbox and they receive a notification.

When you send a message to someone you haven't already connected with, the message
may be sent to the recipient's Other folder.

Facebook may allow you to pay to have the message delivered to the person's inbox. The cost of the service appears below the message, according to Facebook. (Note that I haven't tested or used this feature).

As part of its anti-spam efforts, Facebook automatically filters messages and sends some to your Other folder. To view the
filtered items,
click Messages in the left panel of your news feed and
choose Other in the top-left corner of the window.

To move a message to your inbox, either reply to the message or open it and choose Move to Inbox on the Actions drop-down menu.

To change your inbox filter
preferences, click Edit Preferences under Other in the left panel and select either Basic Filtering or Strict Filtering. The Facebook Help Center's Messaging Settings & Security page explains both types of filtering.

3. Sharing options

When you update your status on Facebook, the icons below the text box let you tag
someone, change the date, add a location, upload a file, or choose an activity. You can
change the default audience for the post by selecting the audience button in the bottom right of the status box and choosing an
option from the dropdown menu: Public, Friends, Only Me, Close Friends, or Family.

To customize the audience for the post, click Custom to view a dropdown menu that lets you choose Friends of Friends, or Specific People, or Lists. Enter the names (or lists of people) you want to add. You can also exclude specific people or lists from the post's audience.

The three options for sharing photos are
Upload Photos/Videos,
Add Synced Photos, and Create Photo Album.
An upcoming post will explain your options for uploading,
sharing, and editing photos on Facebook.

To let the Facebook world know where you are, choose the Place icon and enter a
location, or choose one from the list of recent locations that appears under the text box.

You can also share life events in five categories:
Work & Education,
Life & Relationships,
Home & Living,
Health & Wellness, and
Travel & Experiences.
Each of these categories has several subcategories. My personal favorite life-event subcategory is Changed Beliefs under Travel & Experiences.

Do you find the post informative? Kindly Share on your Facebook just as I've explained above. Thanks.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related stories

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...